A Reading Plan With A Lesson

The Perfect Plan?

The Bible is the unique book of all books. But, ask a naysayer and you will get all kinds of resistance to that statement. It's not easy to grasp a book you cannot understand.

On the other hand, YOU just might be different and be able to grasp the simple hidden within what the world calls “complicated” and “hard to understand.” Of course, the Bible is the easiest book in the world to read and understand if one has a sincere and open mind. Without that, it is impossible to grasp. Romans chapter 1 explains that pretty clearly.

Now, to the simple within the so-called complicated.

The SIMPLE in the “Complex.”

Anyone who has ever read the Bible to any extent will recognize this fact. The book is loaded with the number 7. In fact, the Bible is divided into 7 simple sections.

The other day I was reading a statement that explained a reading plan for the Bible. The material explained that since the Bible is divided into 7 sections and the week had 7 days why not combine the two into a reading program. A simple idea from a “complicated” book.

In reading this it dawned on me that here was a potential “teaching moment.” Someone had discovered the idea that one could read a different section of the Bible each day of the week. Then, each week this would repeat until the whole Bible had been read. Then, one starts over again. Little did the writer realize what a lesson this would become.

Let's see:

The SEVEN Sections of the Bible

Most Bible readers seem to not pay attention to this gem of information. But the Bible itself is divided into SEVEN sections. They are:

  1. The LAW.
  2. The PROPHETS.
  3. The WRITINGS.
  4. The EVANGELS and ACTS.
  5. PAUL's Epistles.
  6. The GENERAL Epistles.
  7. APOKALYPSIS, or Revelation.

The SEVEN Day Week

Now, the Bible uses numbers for the days of the week. Most of us are used to the “pagan” names of the week: Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday.

Be that as it may, here is how the days of the week and the 7 sections of the Bible line up:

  1. Day ONE — The LAW.
  2. Day TWO — The PROPHETS.
  3. Day THREE — The WRITINGS.
  4. Day FOUR [Middle of the week.] The EVANGELS and ACTS.
  5. Day FIVE — PAUL's Epistles.
  6. Day SIX — The GENERAL Epistles.
  7. Day SEVEN — APOKALYPSIS, or Revelation.

So, here is the reading plan. On Day ONE read a section of the LAW. Then, the next day, Day TWO, read a section from the PROPHETS. Keep going thru all the days of the week. Thus, every day you are reading a different section, and every week you are reading information from all sections of the Bible. A balanced reading program for sure. Finally, when one finishes a section, then start all over again. A lifetime reading program.

That's simple enough, right?


The Bible really is simple, and this reading plan teaches more than just to read a portion of a section of the Bible each day of the week. What we find here is a beautiful PATTERN throughout the Bible. Once this pattern is learned all kinds of information begins to fit together.

First off, you now know the 7 sections of the Bible. You also know that the Bible uses numbers for the days of the week. But what else does this teach, almost automatically?

Well, by learning the 7 sections of the Bible, one can go on and learn which books are in each section. For example:

In The LAW section are five books:

  1. Genesis
  2. Exodus
  3. Leviticus
  4. Numbers
  5. Deuteronomy

So, you can see that on every Day ONE of the week you will be reading one of these books. After a few reads you will never forget their order. Nor the order of the other books in each section you come to.

Added to this lesson, you will learn something about the Messiah of the Greek Scriptures. Both the “Old and New Testaments” show that the Messiah was to be cut off/killed in the midst of the week. And, He literally was. He was not slaughtered on a Friday as the world teaches. No, He was slaughtered in the middle of the week.

So, what is the teaching moment for this? Well…. it just so happens that the FOURTH section of the Bible is the EVANGELS and ACTS. These are the books that describe the life of the Messiah, and result of His life, death and resurrection.

One thing we learn here is this: the Bible is a very SPECIFIC book when it comes to consistency. Look:


  • The Bible is divided into SEVEN sections.
  • The week is divided into SEVEN days.
  • The MIDST or MIDDLE of the week is Day FOUR.
  • The FOURTH section of the Bible is EVANGELS & ACTS.
  • That FOURTH section of the Bible is about the MESSIAH.
  • He was to be killed in the MIDST of the week [4th day], and was.
  • The PATTERN fits when put together.
  • Every fourth day of the week you read about the Messiah on the day of the week He was killed.
  • The MESSIAH is the CENTER message of the whole Bible, and the exact books of the Bible about His life are exactly in the center of the Bible when properly divided into the 7 sections.

With this pattern one is now set to overlay the other patterns of sevens. One example to entice you to look further is the first verse of chapter one of Genesis. In the Hebrew that verse has SEVEN words. Those SEVEN words gives us the whole Bible in this way:

Each of those seven words represents one of the seven sections of the whole Bible. And, it just so happens that the FOURTH word in that seven word sentence represents the MESSIAH. It is the word John was bringing to our attention when he wrote John 1:1 which says, In beginning [i.e. In Genesis] was the WORD, and that WORD was ATh in Hebrew, the Aleph Tau, or in John's Greek text, Alpha/Omega.

Yes, one might consider this reading plan for totally simplifying what the world makes “complicated.” I suggest you give it a try, and continue for life. Doors of understanding will open beyond what you can grasp right now.

Happy reading!


Author: Bob Petry

Student of the Bible since 1953. And am still learning.

Leave a Reply